top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly

#BiteSizeSaturday ft. Palm Beach Finland & Welcome To Wherever You Are

Updated: Dec 8, 2018


Let’s face it: we are all busy people, which means that you don’t have the time to read loads of long-winded reviews a day and frankly, I don’t have the time to write them!


So, today I’m introducing Bite Size Saturday, allowing me to show you some novels I think you should know about but instead of writing a review a mile long, I’m squeezing all the info you need in just a few succinct sentences! (That’s the plan anyway, we’ll see how it plays out, you know how I get carried away sometimes). As always, if you want to know more, comment or come find me on Twitter!


For my first ever Bite Size Saturday, I give you Palm Beach Finland by Antti Tuomainen, translated by David Hackston

Welcome to Palm Beach Finland, the ‘hottest beach in Finland’! This is a darkly funny story featuring an undercover policeman who can’t count posing as a math teacher, an heiress without indoor plumbing, 2 wannabe criminals reminiscent of the goons from Home Alone, a very sweaty hotel owner with very big dreams, a brother seeking revenge, Fitness Barbie and 25.000 euros.

I’ve had this book for a little while (thanks Karen!!) but I was keeping it for a rainy day, for when I needed to rinse my palate so to speak. And holy flamingo, rinse it, it did! This is unlike anything I’ve ever read and I had so much fun reading it! The NY Times called Antti the funniest writer in Europe and they’re not wrong; I’m still grinning whenever I think about this book, which is quite often really.

Unique, thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended!

Beware: Antti is highly addictive! I've already started listening to his previous novel The Man Who Died.

My rating: 💛💛💛💛💛


Next up: Welcome To Wherever You Are by John Marrs

This is the only self-published novel by John Marrs, and his favourite one, or so he told me on Twitter. He called it "the middle child people forget" so I'm here to remind you, because it deserves all the love you have to give! If you liked John's other novels, you will certainly like this one, and if you haven't read any of John's novels, well what are you waiting for? Stop reading this and go buy one, any of them, or better yet, all of them, they're terrific!

But I digress. Welcome To Wherever You Are is an addictive thriller featuring a bunch of backpackers who meet at an LA hostel. All of them carry around a truckload of secrets and as the story progresses the reader discovers what lies beneath. And let me tell you: it was never what I thought it would be. Every time I was convinced I had someone pegged, I was proven wrong in the biggest way and at times my jaw literally dropped.

Highly recommended to those of you who love their reads full of suspense and a little bit of wanderlust.

Stay tuned for Music Monday when I discuss a song that's particularly important to some of the characters in this novel!

My rating: 💛💛💛💛💛


That was it for today, folks! I hope you liked this first edition of Bite Size Saturday and will be adding some new novels to your TBR!

43 views0 comments
bottom of page